Barbara Kolm

President of the Friedrich A. v. Hayek Institute in Vienna, Austria and Director of the Austrian Economics Center. Being a worldwide networker she uses these abilities to promote free market policies; in addition she is a frequent speaker on public policy related issues, especially on deregulation and competition topics, the Future of Europe and Austrian Economics. Barbara Kolm is an Associate Professor of Austrian Economics at the University of Donja Gorica, Montenegro and a member of the Board of Business Consultants of the Austrian Chamber of Commerce and a Member of the Mont Pélerin Society. She is President of the European Center for Economic Growth.

Michael Jaeger

Michael Jaeger is Secretary General of the European Taxpayers’ movement Taxpayers Association of Europe (TAE) since 1996, and since 2011 also Chief Executive Manager (CEO) of the European Economic Senate, the network of leading corporates in Europe. Since 1991 Michael Jaeger is working for the Bavarian Taxpayers Association, since October 2015 as a Vice-President. He was elected as Vice-President of the German Taxpayers Association in 2018. He is an entrepreneur, consultant and author working as a watchdog of the taxpayers and a fighter for less taxation, more individual freedom and free market economy with publications, articles, statements and lectures in matters pertaining to taxation, public spending, agricultural and structural reforms, funds, deregulation, privatization and institutional reforms. In 2016 he received the European Award “Mérite Européen” for his engagement for Europe and European People.

Richard Zundritsch

Richard Zundritsch is a business consultant with a focus on the capital markets and small business M&A. He previously worked as a director of corporate finance for numerous international banks in Austria and Germany, and across Eastern Europe and Latin America. Dr. Zundritsch is fluent in English, German, Dutch and French.

Walter Springer

Scientific Board

Lord Nigel Lawson

Nigel Lawson, Baron Lawson of Blaby, is a journalist, a member of Britain’s Conservative Party and now sits in the British House of Lords. From 1981 to 1989, he held various cabinet positions in the government of Lady Margaret Thatcher. Before entering politics, he worked as an editor at The Sunday Telegraph and The Spectator magazine. He was educated at Christ Church, Oxford where he studied Philosophy, Politics and Economics.

Edmund Phelps

Nobel Laureate 2006, Professor, Department of Economics, Columbia University, New York.
Edmund Phelps is professor of economics at Columbia University. He is a fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences and has served as a consultant to the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Dr. Phelps received his Bachelor’s degree from Amherst College and holds a Ph.D. in economics from Yale University. In 2006, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics.

Vernon L. Smith

Vernon L. Smith is professor of economics and law at George Mason University and is a research scholar in the Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science in Arlington, Virginia. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and is president of the International Foundation for Research in Experimental Economics, which he helped to found in 1997. Dr. Smith received his Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from California Institute of Technology, as well as a Master’s degree in economics from the University of Kansas and holds a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard University. In 2002, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics.

Georg Winckler

Georg Winckler is chairman of the board and president of the FIRST Foundation. He has been a visiting research scholar at the International Monetary Fund and has also been a visiting professor at the universities of Fribourg, Georgetown, Graz and Bratislava. He previously served as rector of the University of Vienna and was vice president of the European University Association. Dr. Winckler received a Bachelor’s degree in economics from Princeton University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Vienna.


Emil Hierhold

Ursula Schäff